Friday, July 3

Upland Police Department

Department Rank Structure

Six Ranks for Sworn Officers

The Upland Police Department has six ranks for sworn peace officers. New peace officers are only hired at the officer level. All other ranks are filled by internal promotions. In order to promote to the other positions an officer must hold the rank immediately below it as well as meet other educational and service requirements. Promotions are made by the Chief of Police in accordance with a competitive testing procedure administered by the Human Resources department. In descending order of seniority they are:

  • Officer
  • Detective
  • Sergeant
  • Lieutenant
  • Captain
  • Chief